Thursday, January 27, 2011

Protest against Padam Bhushan to Y C Deveshwar, ITC Chairman

Campaign against Padam Bhushan for ITC Chairman

The Padma Bhushan is the third highest civilian award in the Republic of India, after the Bharat Ratna and the Padma Vibhushan, but comes before the Padma Shri. It is awarded by the Government of India. Established in 2 January 1954 by the President of India. It is awarded to recognize distinguished service of a high order to the nation, in any field.
This year government has received 1303 nominations for the top civilian awards for 2011.
The list of Nominees include Yoga guru Baba Ramdev, fashion designer Ritu Beri and shooter Tejaswami Sawant, Satyendra Dubey, Manjunath Sanmugham. The list of Bollywood stars in the nomineees include Jaya Prada, Priyanka Chopra and Salman Khan.
List of Politicians include, Uttarakhand chief minister Ramesh Pokhriyal known as ‘Nishank’ under literature and education category and former Orissa chief minister Giridhar Gamang nominated under the ‘instrumental music’ category.
In 2010, Government announced 130 awards, including 13 in the category of foreigners, NRIs and PIOs. The list included 6 Padma Vibhushan, 43 Padma Bhushan and 81 Padma Shri. No one has been chosen for the Bharat Ratna award in 2010 ( ) in cluding
Sachin Tendulkar, the god of Indian Cricket.

When the annoucement of these awards was done, the tobacco free campaigner were disapponted when Y.C. Deveshwar The Chairman of Indian Tobacco Company. Mr Deveshwar was selected for this prestigious award. Who became Chairman in 1996 has led ITC to become one of India’s front ranking and most valuable enterprises. His vision and inspiring leadership has not only transformed ITC into a diversified multi-business Indian conglomerate but more importantly, into an organisation with a deep commitment to national priorities of sustainable and inclusive growth. His invaluable contribution in creating pioneering business models have created sustainable livelihoods for millions of people, particularly in rural India, and among those who represent the weakest sections of society.
Our governemnt is always under pressure of Tobacco Industries and working in their influence. This year's list of awardees is the best example of it.
The Tobacco Free Himachal unit of "Himachal Pradesh Voluntary Health Assocaition (HPVHA) the state chapter of VHAI and federation of more than 40 NGO of state" appealed the mass to come forward and creat a pressure on Indain government to recall the award from YC Deveshwar. Is this award is given for ITC's contribution of making profit on killing of people. Think and Act ????????????

1 comment:

  1. Sachin Tendulkar is not called God of Indian Cricket but GOD OF CRICKET (World over)